“Turner Prize”

The Turner Prize 2016 for one pence every Tuesday

Visitors to the Turner Prize 2016 exhibition, opening on 27 September at the Tate Britain, can pay their admission at whatever price they choose on Tuesdays, with the minimum sum being one pence. To see the works of the nominees Michael Dean, Anthea Hamilton, Helen Marten and Josephine Pryde, visitors need to fork out £12 on the other days of the week. This is the first exhibition to be based on this principle at the Tate Britain. This year’s nominees have featured in shows organised at institutions including the South London Gallery, the Sculpture Center of New York, the 56th Venice Beinnale and the CCA Wattis Institute in San Francisco. The winner of the Turner Prize, to be announced on 5 December, will receive £25,000 while £5,000 will go to each of the other artists. The Turner Prize jury is made up of Beatrix Ruf, director of the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, Michelle Cotton, director of the Bonner Kunstverein in Bonn, London-based exhibition curator Tamsin Dillon, and Simon Wallis, director of Hepworth Wakefield. This exhibition, continuing until 2 January 2017, was curated by the Tate’s Linsey Young and Laura...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Nicholas Serota leaves the Tate to chair Arts Council England

At the age of 70 years, Nicholas Serota is leaving the Tate where he has been director for nearly 30 years. As of February 2017, he will be chair of Arts Council England. In 1988, after directing the Whitechapel Gallery in London for 12 years, Nicholas Serota joined the Tate and supervised the opening of the Tate St Ives in 1993, the Tate Modern in 2000, and the new extension of the Tate Modern this year. Serota is one of the world’s most influential figures in international art. He has been president of the jury of the Turner Prize at practically every edition. He thus declared in a press release: “Over the past thirty years there has been a sea-change in public appreciation of the visual arts in this country. Tate is proud to have played a part in this transformation alongside other national and regional museums and the new galleries that have opened across the country in places like Walsall, Margate, Wakefield, Gateshead and...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

BFI London Film Festival honours McQueen

The British Film Institute (BFI) has announced that Steve McQueen has been chosen to receive the BFI fellowship at the awards ceremony of the BFI London Film Festival, to be held on 15 October. Awarded yearly, the BFI fellowship, established in 1983, is a prestigious distinction for film artists. Steve McQueen is being recognised for his exceptional contribution to cinematographic culture, both as an artist and a filmmaker, with his three award-winning films: Hunger (2008), Shame (2011) and 12 Years a Slave (2013). This honour crowns an already heavily honoured career that scored Mcqueen an OBE in 2002, then a CBE in 2011. Apart from his critically acclaimed feature films, McQueen is also known for winning the Turner Prize in 1999. His work has been exhibited worldwide, in venues including the MoMA, the Musée d’Art Moderne in Paris, as well as several Venice Biennales, where he represented Great Britain in...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Announcement of the Turner Prize 2016 nominees

Four artists have been selected for the Turner Prize 2016: Michael Dean, Anthea Hamilton, Helen Marten, Josephine Pryde. The Tate Britain will be presenting an exhibition on the four artists, to be launched on 27 September 2016. The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist under 50 years old for an exhibition in the preceding year. The winner receives $38,500. Michael Dean was nominated for two solo exhibitions, “Sic Glyphs” at the South London Gallery and “Qualities of Violence” at the Appel Arts Centre in Amsterdam. Anthea Hamilton was nominated for “Anthea Hamilton: Lichen! Libido! Chastity!” at the SculptureCenter in New York featuring a huge sculpture of a pair of buttocks passing through a wall. Helen Marten was selected for “Lunar Nibs” at the 56th Venice Biennale and for a solo exhibition “Eucalyptus Let Us In” at the Green Naftali in New York. Finally, Josephine Pryde was nominated for “lapses in Thinking By the person i Am” at the CCA Wattis in San Francisco. The winner will be announced in...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2015 Turner Prize Winner Announced

The Turner Prize, is named after the English painter J. M. W. Turner, and is presented annually to a British visual artist under the age of 50. The winner is chosen by the Tate gallery and staged at Tate Britain. The winner of this year’s Turner Prize of around $37,600 is the artists’ group Assemble. A London-based group recognized for working with communities to promote a successful approach to regeneration, city planning, and development in opposition to corporate gentrification. For the first time ever, this year’s prize was awarded in Scotland, at the Tramway in Glasgow. The jury for this edition consisted of Alistair Hudson, director of the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; Kyla McDonald, artistic director at Glasgow Sculpture Studios; Joanna Mytkowska, the director at the Museum Sztuki Nowoczesnej; Jan Verwoert, critic and curator; and was chaired by Alex Farquharson, director at Tate Britain. The exhibition of all nominees shortlisted for the prize continues at Tramway through 17 January...

Tags: , , , , , , ,