Charles Fréger, winner of the Prix Art [ ] Collector

The Art [ ] Collector selection committee has picked its winner, a choice coinciding with FIAC 2016. Evelyne and Jacques Deret — collectors and initiators of the project — have chosen French photographer Charles Fréger. Two solo exhibitions will be organised for him in 2017: the first at the Patio Art Opéra, in Paris, the second at the Patinoire Royale/Galerie Valérie Bach, in Brussels. These exhibitions will be accompanied by the publication of a catalogue. Evelyne and Jacques Deret launched this project to reach out to a new public by presenting artworks outside of their usual context, in other words, museums and galleries. Loaned by collectors, works — whether by historic or emerging artists — are shown in private spaces and communicate with one...

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Artadia announces the five Atlanta Award 2016 finalists

On 25 October 2016, Artadia — a non-profit organisation promoting the visual arts — announced the five finalists of the Atlanta Award 2016. Amongst the 188 candidatures received by the body, Kelly Kristin Jones, T. Lang, Jiha Moon, Zipporah Thompson and Cosmo Whyte have been singled out as the finalists. The selection jury was composed of four exhibition curators from major US museums including Jamilah James, curator at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles. The Atlanta Artadia Award 2016 is open to artists living in the city of Atlanta for at least two years in a row, and practising art in any medium. Hernandez Chong Cuy said that the selection process was difficult because many artists presented rich, powerful...

Tags: , , , , ,

Twelve exhibition curators shortlisted for the Independent Vision Curatorial Award

The Independent Curators International has selected twelve curators to compete for its Independent Vision Curatorial Award. Director of the Pérez Art Museum in Miami, Franklin Sirmans, will personally choose the winner who will receive $3,000 to finance a new exhibition project. In the running are curator and choreographer Rashida Bumbray, independent curator and producer Elise Atangana, as well as Dhaka Art Summit chief curator and artistic director Diana Campbell...

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

BFI London Film Festival honours McQueen

The British Film Institute (BFI) has announced that Steve McQueen has been chosen to receive the BFI fellowship at the awards ceremony of the BFI London Film Festival, to be held on 15 October. Awarded yearly, the BFI fellowship, established in 1983, is a prestigious distinction for film artists. Steve McQueen is being recognised for his exceptional contribution to cinematographic culture, both as an artist and a filmmaker, with his three award-winning films: Hunger (2008), Shame (2011) and 12 Years a Slave (2013). This honour crowns an already heavily honoured career that scored Mcqueen an OBE in 2002, then a CBE in 2011. Apart from his critically acclaimed feature films, McQueen is also known for winning the Turner Prize in 1999. His work has been exhibited worldwide, in venues including the MoMA, the Musée d’Art Moderne in Paris, as well as several Venice Biennales, where he represented Great Britain in...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9th Edition of ”Prix MAIF pour la sculpture”

The list of artists selected for the 9th edition of Prix MAIF pour la sculpture has been published. The finalists are: Guillaume Aubry, François-Noé Fabre, Raphaël Faon & Andres Salgado, Pascal Jounier Trémelo and Laurence de Leersnyder. The 9th edition of Prix MAIF pour la sculpture provides an emerging artist the possibility to create a brass sculpture. To be selected, the artists had to prepare a model of their project at 1/1 scale as well as a video, allowing the jury to make its decision. The MAIF stakeholders were also invited to vote in the final jury which included Dominique Mahé, MAIF chairman, Chiara Parisi, Director of Cultural Programs of the Monnaie de Paris, Marianne Lanavère, Director of the Centre international d’art et du paysage de l’île de Vassivière, Emmanuel Daca, head of workshop for the Fonderie Chapon de Bobigny, as well as Anne Langlois, Director of 40mcube in Rennes, Marie-Anne Ben Maïz, Gaël Charbeau and Vincent Barré. The winner of the 9th edition of Prix MAIF pour la sculpture will be announced at the end of September and the winning sculpture will be made in two copies, one for the artist, and one for the...

Tags: , , , , , ,