“Independent Curators International”

Dexter Wimberly at the head of the Aljira Centre for Contemporary Art

Dexter Wimberly, former director of the Independent Curators International of New York, has been hired as executive director of the Aljira Center for Contemporary Art in Newark, New Jersey. Wimberly, also formerly communications director for the Museum for African Art in New York and cofounder of the public-relations firm August Bishop, took up his duties in Newark on 15...

Tags: , , , ,

Twelve exhibition curators shortlisted for the Independent Vision Curatorial Award

The Independent Curators International has selected twelve curators to compete for its Independent Vision Curatorial Award. Director of the Pérez Art Museum in Miami, Franklin Sirmans, will personally choose the winner who will receive $3,000 to finance a new exhibition project. In the running are curator and choreographer Rashida Bumbray, independent curator and producer Elise Atangana, as well as Dhaka Art Summit chief curator and artistic director Diana Campbell...

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Beatrix Ruf wins ICI’s Agnes Gund curatorial award

Beatrix Ruf, curator at Amsterdam’s Stedelijk Museum, has been announced as the winner of the ICI Agnes Gund curatorial award. Independent Curators International offers this award “[…] every other year to an established curator for their outstanding contribution to the world of art.” Ruf, who was born in Singen, Germany in 1960, has had a long-standing career in the international art world. Following her work as a freelance curator, choreographer and critic, she became curator at Kunstmuseum Thurgau, Warth, where she held her position from 1994 until 1998. As director of Kunsthalle Zurich from 2001 until 2014, she put together a number of shows with many artists, such as Laura Owens, Avery Singer, and Isa Genzken. Her work at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam have facilitated her consideration as a tastemaker, with a keen eye for young talent. ICI has said of Ruf’s win: “Over the years, Beatrix Ruf has shown unwavering support of artists, helping define many careers. She has followed her trust in the experimental, and consistently nurtured emerging art practice, giving several young artists their first museum exhibitions and commissions.” The award, named after New York philanthropist Agnes Gund has been awarded in the past to Lynne Cooke, Alanna Heiss, and Germano...

Tags: , , , , ,

Independent Curators International presents Michael Govan with 2015 Leo Award

Independent Curators International (ICI) has announced Michael Govan is the recipient of the 2015 Leo Award at the 40th Anniversary Benefit & Auction held by ICI this November. The award is named after art dealer Leo Castelli, and honours contributions to the field as well as the support for contemporary artists. The award has had notable winners such as Dimitris Daskalopoulos, Roy and Dorothy Lichtenstein, and Dasha Zhukova. Govan has held several prominent leadership positions for over 25 years, and his current position as director of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) has allowed for the reputation of the museum on a global scale to be more diffused. Prior to this, he was the president and director of the Dia Art Foundation, establishing Dia:Beacon in the Hudson Valley, while developing the collection of the institution. The executive director of ICI, Renaud Proch, stated, “Michael Govan’s vision reflects ICI’s mission […] international in scope, supportive to artists and to curators, and focused on building institutions that connect people and fulfil the civic role of art.” Independent Curators International was established in 1975, is responsible for producing exhibitions, events, publications, and research and training opportunities. It provides networking opportunities for emerging curators, artists and art spaces on an international scale....

Tags: , , , , ,

ICI announces nominations for Independent Vision Curatorial Award

Independent Curators International (ICI) have announced their list of nominations for the biannual Independent Vision Curatorial Award. The award is designed to honour up-and-coming curators; this year, nominees hail from traditional art centres New York, Paris and London, as well as Guatemala, Costa Rica, Slovenia, and Senegal. The nominees are: Eva Barois De Caevel, Bao Dong, Anne Dressen, Inti Guerrero, Agung Hujatnikajennong, Naima Keith, Thomas Lax, Tevž Logar, Emile Maurice, Diana Nawi, Mary Pansanga, Marina Reyes Franco, Gaia Tedone and Natalia Valencia. The winner will be selected by Nancy Spector, chief curator and deputy director of Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. The prize will be awarded during the ICI’s annual gala in New York 17 November 2014, with the winner receiving $3,000 to put towards a new curatorial...

Tags: , , , , ,