Artadia announces the five Atlanta Award 2016 finalists

On 25 October 2016, Artadia — a non-profit organisation promoting the visual arts — announced the five finalists of the Atlanta Award 2016. Amongst the 188 candidatures received by the body, Kelly Kristin Jones, T. Lang, Jiha Moon, Zipporah Thompson and Cosmo Whyte have been singled out as the finalists. The selection jury was composed of four exhibition curators from major US museums including Jamilah James, curator at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles. The Atlanta Artadia Award 2016 is open to artists living in the city of Atlanta for at least two years in a row, and practising art in any medium. Hernandez Chong Cuy said that the selection process was difficult because many artists presented rich, powerful...

Tags: , , , , ,

Artadia Los Angeles announces prizewinners

Los Angeles, 18 November 2013, Art Media Agency (AMA). “Artadia: The Fund for Art and Dialogue”, which awards prizes on a rotational basis between Atlanta, Boston, Chicago and Houston, has announced the winners of its inaugural prize in Los Angeles. The recipients of the $15,000 prize for artistic excellence are Cayetano Ferrer and Nicole Miller, while Vishal Jugdeo, Stanya Kahn and Kerry Tribe were also awarded a prize of $3,000. The winners were selected by three judges: Ali Subotnick, curator at the Hammer Museum; Magnolia de la Garza, associate curator at the Museo Rufino Tamayo in Mexico; and Joao Ribas, from MIT’s List Visual Art...

Tags: , , , , ,

Artadia grants $45,000 to seven Expo Chicago artists

Chicago, 24 September 2012. Art Media Agency (AMA). On the occasion of a press conference at the Expo Chicago Fair, Artadia (The Fund for Art and Dialogue) announced the names of the seven winners of its last grant cycle. They have been chosen amongst over 500 candidates coming from Cook County, Illinois. For the sixth time the organisation, founded in 1997 by the banker Christopher E. Vroom, offers grants specifically to local artists. The group also proposes scholarships in New York and Chicago and offers a series of grants in Houston. The winners are Tirtza Même Sokolow and Deb ($15,000 grants), Samatha Bittman, David Hartt, Lisa Lindvay, Heather and Ian Weaver Mekkelson ($3,000 grants). The modern and contemporary art fair, Expo Chicago 2012, was organised from 20 to 23 September at the Navy Pier’s Festival Hall, and gathered over a hundred national and international...

Tags: , , , , ,