Canada Arts Council recognises seven artists

   |  8 June 2012  |  AMA  |  Tweet  |  LinkedIn

Ottawa, 6 June 2012, Art Media Agency (AMA).

On 28 May 2012, the Canada Arts Council released the names of the winners of the Victor Martyn Lynch-Stauton 2012 prize. This prize is awarded to seven Canadian artists in the middle of their careers; one for each discipline supported by the council.

Sculptor Valérie Blass explores different techniques in sculpture in order to create hybrid creations somewhere between humans, animals, and objects. She won the “Visual Art” prize.

Manon de Pauw was awarded the “interdisciplinary” prize. This artist uses various media (video, installation, photography, performance, digital technology, and choreography, as well as older techniques), to look at the accelerating pace of life, and everyday social relationships. She also lectures at the Concordia University in Montréal.

Graeme Patterson was recognised for his work in “art media”. He first became known for his work developing a new animation technique image by image. His multimedia installations make use of music, scale models, robots, and interactive elements. He often deals with the themes of loss, regret, and discovery in his works.

In the prize’s other categories, poet Sylvia Legris won “writing and publishing”, actor and director Denis Lavalou was recognised for his work in “Theatre”, Brian Current was awarded the “Music” prize, and Nova Bhattacharya was recognised for her contributions to dance.

Winners of the Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton prize are awarded CA$15,000 from a fund set up by the philanthropist whose name it bears.

Tags: , , ,

Also in :